Bishops Online for Lent

February 10, 2010 11:19 am
Australian Bishops Go Online for Lent:
As Catholics begin to plan their Lenten journey this year, the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference is calling on people to take up a new and exciting challenge.
“Instead of just giving up something for Lent, why not take up something as well,” said ACBC Commission for Mission and Faith Formation Chair, Archbishop John Bathersby.
“This year we are asking that you consider spending time with friends and family reflecting on the Scriptures that lead us to this joyous celebration of the Church”, he said.
The call goes out for people to share their Easter journey with others, in an innovative online experience called The Reflection.
The Reflection will offer people an accessible opportunity for faith formation via the World Wide Web.
“The responses we received last year from the St Paul and St Luke eConferences were extremely positive and very humbling” said Archbishop Bathersby. “The fact that more than 20,000 participants came online highlights a hunger in people to deepen their faith.”
Twelve Australian Bishops have agreed to participate in this pilot series, and will explore the Sunday Gospels of Lent with participants using a lectio divina model of prayer. Commencing the 15 February at 7pm, The Reflection comprises seven short weekly episodes that will remain archived on the site so that people may participate at their own pace.
Visit the website now to find out more about this project; guidelines for undertaking lectio divina; a downloadable booklet to take you through the readings for the period, and Q&A’s to assist further discussion.
Archbishops and Bishops who will be featured in the reflection include:
Most Rev Philip Wilson (Adelaide),
Most Rev John Bathersby (Brisbane)
Most Rev Denis Hart (Melbourne)
Most Rev Mark Coleridge (Canberra-Goulburn)
Most Rev Adrian L. Doyle (Hobart)
Most Rev Michael Putney (Townsville)
Most Rev Christopher Saunders (Broome)
Most Rev David Walker (Broken Bay)
Most Rev Gregory O’Kelly SJ (Port Pirie)
Most Rev D. Eugene Hurley (Darwin)
Most Rev Gerard Hanna (Wagga Wagga)
Most Rev Joseph A. Grech (Sandhurst)